choose your region

The review of the DigitalDesigns M3 amplifier

In our testing laboratory we got familiarized with the American amplifier from the record breaker category of the year 2007 in the dBDrag class, the top representative of the M Series — DigitalDesigns M3. Frankly speaking we had put high hopes on this amplifier after reading the cheerful reviews at the overseas websites. So heavily equipped we took on the task.

 

First about the specifications presented by the manufacturer at the www.ddaudio.com

 

Series

M

Input Sensitivity

0.2V - 8V

HPF Filter

NO

Subsonic Filter

10Hz - 50Hz at 24dB/Oct

Variable Low Pass Filter

20Hz - 200Hz at 24dB/Oct

Clipping Display

LED

Tested Voltage

14.4V

Tested THD

1%

Power at 4 ohm

600W

Power at 1 Ohm

2400W

Maximal Power

4500W

Damping Factor

>450 @ 1 Ohm

Efficiency thru Output

>85%

Dimensions, mm

540 L x 235 W x 53.4 H

Signal to Noise

90dB

Weight 11Kg
Price for Russia 1400$

 

Now about the package contents — black box with red inscription 'DigitalDesigns' on it. Inside the first there was one more box. That was good, taking in consideration the long transportation. Besides the amplifier itself the box contained the remote control unit with clipping display and a cable, along with user manual and couple of hex-nut wrenches. Everything was rather usual and unpretentious. The same can be said about the amplifier itself, which turned out to be anything but big or heavy, and at first that was a disappointment.


DigitalDesigns M3-photo-1

By the appearance it reminded me my favorite Armada from Oris Electronics — completely identical layout of the elements and indicators, which, in its turn, already became the standard. On the one side there are power connectors for 0 AWG and connectors for subwoofers (2 for each plus and minus), for 8 AWG conductor and for the remote. On the other side there is audio output for two RCA cables, level control device, low-pass filter, adjustable subsonic, the "master/slave" switch with RCA jack and the jack for the remote bass control, which will be discussed later. The device exemplar we had received was produced in Korea.


DigitalDesigns M3-photo-2

So, on the outside everything is standard and perfectly clear. Taking off the bottom cover fixed with 8 screws, we see: on the first glance noticeable two 8 AWG cables that are strung from the output stage to the jacks. Length of the cables is adequate, without stinginess. Talking about the hardware components - everything is also in good order: both condensers and transistors are not of the low-priced, coils are carefully coiled and varnished, transistors attached to the heatsink using plenty of thermal gel. Well-soldered jumpers in the power module had satisfied me as well. In all, the quality of soldering of the hardware components is decent. There's no doubt about it, expected result when you pay 1400$ for the amplifier.


DigitalDesigns M3-photo-3

 

Passing from words to deeds. Fingers itch to test the device in a good load. The testing method: failing the adequate test bench we decided to test the amplifier in its natural conditions - at the trunk of a car. We powered the amplifier from the Mazda 3 car accumulator through two 4 AWG cables separately for plus and minus. We had decided to support the amplifier by the generator of the started car, while measuring. Alongside with the amplifier two 12 inch Vibe subwoofers closed in the bass-reflex enclosure were connected through 8 AWG wires to the 2 Ohm and 0.5 Ohm. As the signal source we used the Pioneer AVH-P6800DVD car audio, which reproduced the dB Drug Jams CD, with recorded sinusoidal signals from 20 to 80Hz. The measuring instruments used were the clamp meter and voltmeter. Clamp meter was fastened on one of the wires, connected to the woofer, and the voltmeter took the readings from the clamps at the Vibe sockets.

Below the results of the measurings of the amplifier output power are presented. (Numbers are rounded-off).


Total Resistance

Output

6 Ohm 700W

4 Ohm

1000W

2 Ohm

1600W

1 Ohm

2000W


 

Let us recall, that according to DigitalDesigns the nominal output power for 4 Ohm load is 600W. We had 1000W - not bad! But when the total resistance goes down, we can see that the results falls, at that, below the declared value. Matter is that, the voltage of the car embedded network fell down to 9V during measuring, but the amplifier continued operating, without changes. For measuring the low values of total resistance the amplifier had the load of 0.5 Ohm, but the music remain clear and qualitative, without flooding. Only now and then the automatic power connection with nominal 150A switched on, but that could be expected. Certainly, at the stabilized power (even if it is not 14V, but 12V) and with low-resistance load the amplifier will deliver the result declared by manufacturer and even go beyond it. I wonder, how would perform two DigitalDesigns M3 amplifiers, connected into the bridge. I reckon, the result would be even more interesting.
And now about the sound. The power of the monoblock was surprising, but what about the quality of the output signal? Frankly speaking, we were thrilled by the work of the engineers of DigitalDesigns - irrespective of the load of the amplifier the sound preserved its lucidity, energy and even some kind of sharpness. There were no noises or overloads detected. Having tested it for about a week, I had appreciated according to merit the high power and good sound quality.
The useful gadget from DD also should be mentioned - the remote bass control with clip indication. Though it may be too sensitive, because it lights up even with the small signal distortion. But if speaking of setting powerful and qualitative bass channel, current device definitely will be very useful. And indeed, it is always interesting to know at what level the bash about the loudspeakers begins.

Summary:

Undoubtedly, current amplifier showed outstanding ability for the device of its class. Altogether the impression was positive. All packaging arrangement, quality of assemblage, hardware components and power characteristics were equal to the occasion. But it has to be mentioned, that this device is meant not for the ordinary systems but for systems with low load, exactly in such modes the DigitalDesign M3 performs hundred-per-cent. So if you are not maniac SPL-lover owning the subwoofer with four 4 Ohm resistors and if you don't have a perfectly planned power supply system with high-precision AGM accumulators, then you'd better to draw your attention to the models of the other manufacturers in the lower price range, because in the case with DigitalDesigns price leaves much to be desired.

choose your region

Усилитель DigitalDesigns M3

Итак, к нам в тестовую лабораторию попал американский усилитель из семьи рекордсменов 2007 года по классу dBDrag, относящийся к средней линейке М - ее топовый представитель M3. Скажу сразу, что надежд на этот усилитель мы возлагали много, начитавшись радужных отзывов на буржуйских сайтах, вооружившись приборами, мы крепко взялись за дело.

 

Первым делом о том, что заявляет производитель на своем сайте www.ddaudio.com

 

Серия

M

Входная чувствительность

0.2В - 8В

HPF Фильтр

НЕТ

Сабсоник

10Гц - 50Гц
24 дБ/Окт

LPF Фильтр

20Гц - 200Гц
24дБ/Окт

Индикация клипа

Светодиод

Напряжение питания при проверке

14.4В

Проверенное THD

1%

Мощность на 4 Ома

600Вт

Мощность на 1 Ом

2400Вт

Максимальная мощность

4500Вт

Демпфирующий фактор

>450 @ 1Ом

КПД

>85%

Размеры, мм

540Д x 235Ш x 53.4В

Соотношение сигнал/шум

90 дБ

Вес 11 Кг
Цена в России 1400$

 

Теперь о комплектности — коробка черная с брутальной красной надписью DigitalDesigns. Внутри еще одна — что радует при длительной транспортировке. Внутри помимо самого усилителя оказались — блок удаленного управления с индикацией клипа (что несомненно являться изюминкой в случае СПЛ) вместе со шнуром для него, руководство пользователя больше похожее на листовку и пара шестигранников. Все достаточно стандартно и аскетично, что можно сказать и о самом усилителе, который оказался совсем не большим и не тяжелым, что несколько разочаровало поначалу.


DigitalDesigns M3-photo-1

По внешнему виду он напомнил мне любимую Армаду от Oris Electronics — абсолютно идентичное расположение элементов и индикаторов, которое в свою очередь стало уже стандартом. С одной стороны, силовые разъёмы под 0га и разъёмы для подключения сабвуферов по 2 на плюс и минус под проводник 8 га, ну и ремоут. С другой стороны, аудиовход на два RCA, регулятор уровня LPF фильтр, регулируемый сабсоник и переключатель работы master/slave с соответствующим разъемом RCA, и разъем для удаленного управления басом, о котором мы еще поговорим. Попавший к нам экземпляр был изготовлен в Корее.


DigitalDesigns M3-photo-2

Ну что ж, снаружи все стандартно и абсолютно ясно. Снимаем нижнюю крышку, которая держится на 8 винтах. Что мы видим внутри — с первого взгляда бросаются в глаза два провода 8га, протянутых с выходного каскада на разъемы — достойно, не сэкономили. Касаемо элементной базы, то тут все тоже в порядке - как конденсаторы, так и транзисторы оказались отнюдь не из дешевых, катушки тоже вполне достойно намотаны и пролиты, транзисторы прикреплены к радиатору по всем канонам - не жалея термопасты. Порадовали и хорошо пропаянные перемычки в блоке питания - вообще качество пайки всей элементной базы достойное. Но что говорить, ожидаемый результат при цене в 1400$ за усилитель.


DigitalDesigns M3-photo-3

 

Итак, от слов к делу. Руки чешутся посмотреть, как поведет себя Мка в условиях хороших нагрузок. Методика тестирования: ввиду отсутствия достойного стенда, мы решили проветрить усилитель в родных для него условиях - багажник автомобиля. Питание усилителю даем от штатного аккумулятора автомобиля Мазда 3 через два провода четвертого гейна отдельно для плюса и минуса, при замерах ДД решили поддержать генератором заведенной машины. В нагрузку Мке дали через провода 8-ого гейна два 12- дюймовых саба Вайб, подключенных в 2 Ома или 0.5 Ома и закрытых в фазоинвертором корпусе. Источником сигнала послужила автомагнитола Pioneer AVH-P6800DVD, на которой проигрывался диск dB Drug Jams, с записанными на него сигналами синусоидальной формы от 20 до 80 Гц. Измерительными приборами послужили токовые клещи и вольтметр. Клещами был схвачен один из проводов, идущий к вуферу, а вольтметр снимал показания с клем непосредственно на разъемах Вайба.

Далее приведены результаты замеров выходной мощности усилителя (цифры округлены).


Импенданс

Мощность

6Ом 700 Вт

4Ом

1000Вт

2Ом

1600Вт

1Ом

2000Вт


 

Напомним, что по заявлению DigitalDesigns номинальной выходной мощностью для нагрузки в 4 Ома является 600 Вт – у нас 1000 - неплохой подарок, но как только импеданс снижается, мы видим, что результат падает и причем ниже заявленного. Дело в том, что напряжение в бортовой сети автомобиля просело до 9 вольт во время замера, при этом усилитель продолжал работать, не уходя в защиту. Надо сказать отдельно, что для измерения низких импедансов ДД был включен в нагрузку всего пол Ома, но при этом музыка продолжала звучать качественно, без захлебываний. Временами только срабатывал автомат питания номиналом 150А, но это было ожидаемо. В общем нет сомнений, что при подаче даже не 14, а 12 стабилизированного питания Мка выдаст и превысит заявленный производителем результат на низкоомной нагрузке. Интересно было бы посмотреть, как повели бы себя две Мки, включенные в мост – думаю тут результаты были бы еще более интересные.
Теперь о звуке. «Дури» в моноблоке с лихвой мы уже удивились, но как обстоят дела с качеством выходного сигнала? Сказать честно, и тут мы были приятно удивлены инженерами DigitalDesigns – не зависимо от нагрузки, на которой работал усилитель, характер звучания сохранил прозрачность, напористость и даже некую резкость. В искажениях и перегрузках подопытный засечен не был. Покатавшись с ним в багажнике около недели, я по достоинству оценил большую мощность при сохраненном качестве звучания.
Еще хотелось бы отметить приятный гаджет от ДД – удаленный регулятор баса с индикации клипа - для любителей подуться он слишком чувствителен и загорается уже при небольшом искажении сигнала. Но если речь идет о настройке мощного и качественного басового тракта, данный «девайс», безусловно, послужит пользой для установщика. Да и в любом случае, всегда интересно знать когда же начинается насилие над динамиками.

Выводы

Без сомнений данный усилитель показал незаурядные способности в своем классе. В целом впечатление сложилось очень положительное – как и комплектация, качество сборки и элементной базы, так и мощностные характеристики были на высоте. И все же следует отметить, что данное устройство предназначено не на рядовые системы, а на системы с низкой нагрузкой, именно в таких режимах Мка начинает работать на все 100%. Так что если Вы не маньяк SPLщик с сабвуфером, у которого имеются четыре катушки сопротивление в 1 Ом и нет продуманной системы питания с высокоточными AGM аккумуляторами, то Вам, скорее всего, стоит обратить внимание на других производителей и модели усилителей в меньшем ценовом диапазоне, так как с случае с DigitalDesigns последний оставляет желать лучшего.